top of page

Flannel Covidtime Diaries: Life Is Sometimes Like In The Movies

#Covidtime Log Day 02052021

Sota Clothing Co.

My friend Kimi likes to say, "Taking back an ex is like trying to shove poop back up your butt." However, I don't see people as poop, but I understand her sentiment. She thinks people who act like giant turd humans should not be allowed back into your life. I see people as flawed and broken humans who have lots of inner work to complete. How we choose to treat people is how we learned to treat people from our families. Particularly our parents. I believe when you're healing, like truly trying to get healthy, the Universe helps you by removing people from your life. People who may be toxic and hindering your self growth. And sometimes you’re the toxic person who needs to be removed from other people's lives. That's a thing too.

I've known Kimi for a long time since I was 25. We were reminiscing about one New Year's Eve and it was the beginning of a new relationship for her -- now ex -- of many years. We were at my friends house for a NYE gathering and as midnight was rolling around Kimi mentioned that this woman was at a Club in SF. I think Fairy Butch. It was a group of us and we decided you know what, let's go to the club, and then you can kiss her at midnight. We were romantics back then and I think we had just watched Notting Hill. We were already in the City, we just had to figure out if we could get across SF in time to get into the Club in time. I think my friend Tess was driving at the time and she said she could get us there. Trust her. IF you've been to SF getting across town on NYE is no small feet. I mean it could take a good hour if you get stuck in traffic and SF is only 7 miles long. I don't know exactly what time we left my friend's party, but I know that we were cutting it close. I think we just got to the club, let Kimi out so she could get in line, we parked, and got inside probably a few minutes before midnight. Now all Kimi had to do was find her in this packed club. Lol.


You'd be happy to know that they did find each other and were able to kiss as the ball dropped. I'm thinking the year is 2004/05. They stayed together for 8 years, however their breakup was terrible. When are breakups not? Just because we have happy memories with someone isn't a good reason to forget why you are no longer together. And sometimes people separate because they just aren't ready for each other and that's okay, too.

Kimi, Tess, Me Circa 2004

Don't stay where you're not wanted. Don't beg for someone to take you back. You're better than that. You deserve to be with someone who will cherish you and fall in love with you over and over again. You deserve someone who'll race across the city to kiss you at midnight on NYE. Because you're the prize! You are the star of your movie!

bottom of page